Here's the ultimate guide to transferring your out-of-state license to a Utah driver license. This is specifically if you have a US driver's license from another state and want to change it to Utah driver license. If you have a driver license from another country, check out getting a driver's license in Utah.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your Driver License to Utah
- Your current out-of-state driver's license
- Completed Driver License Application (Form DLD6a)
- Proof of Identity and Legal/Lawful Status Verification
- Utah Residency/Mailing Verification if different than current Utah Driver License record (must provide two)
- Social Security Verification
- Name Change documents (if applicable)
What You’ll Need To Do
- Visit any Utah Driver License Division Office: Have your picture taken, Submit all the required documents, Surrender your out-of-state driver’s license, Pay a nonrefundable fee of $52.00
- Pass the eye (vision) test
- Pass a written knowledge test and driving skills test - one or both may be required
- After all requirements for a driver license have been successfully completed, you will receive a temporary license with photo on the same day. The completed driver license will then be mailed to you in approximately 8-10 weeks
Caveats and Exceptions
- Utah law does not have a grace period in which to change an out-of-state driver's license to a Utah license. It simply requires a resident to have a valid Utah driver's license when driving in Utah
Need other Utah DMV help?
How Else Can Skip Help? Whether you need assistance navigating funding for your small business — like SBA loans, grants, or other financing options, or guidance with government-related services — like TSA PreCheck or DMV appointments, we’re ready to help. Become a member and skip the red tape.