Ultimate Guide to Registering your Vehicle in Utah

UTAH VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Featured Image

Here's the ultimate guide to registering your vehicle in Utah. We've simplified the entire process for you so you can save time.

What You’ll Need to Register Your Vehicle in Utah

What You’ll Do to Register Your Vehicle in Utah

  • Step 1: Prior to registration, take your car to an Inspections Station for an emission test if it is required in your county
  • Step 2: Visit your local DMV Office
  • Submit all the required documents
  • Pay your registration and uniform fees
  • Step 3: The DMV will mail you your plates and decals that show your expiration details. You might receive your plates and decals in as little as 8 days, but it may take as long as 4-6 weeks

Caveats and Exceptions in Registering Your Vehicle in Utah

  • Your registration fee is based on your vehicle's year and weight, plus your county of residence
  • New residents to Utah are allowed 60 days to transfer titles and registrations
  • All vehicles that are titled or registered in Utah for the first time are required to complete a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection. Form TC-661, Certificate of Inspection must be completed by a DMV employee, designated contractor, peace officer, licensed dealer, or a certified safety inspector. Note that this may be completed by a DMV employee at the time of registration
  • You can get a temporary registration that gives you an extra 15 days if you’re not able to get everything together in time. To do this, visit the DMV with the documents you have and submit them like you’re registering your vehicle normally. Pay an $8 fee to get the temporary permit
  • The DMV charges a registration fee based on your vehicle’s weight and size. The exact fee varies, so call the DMV to find out what you’ll pay. Then, pay your uniform fee, which is a tax based on the age of your car
  • If it qualifies for a Utah safety inspection, present your vehicle at a Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS)-approved safety inspection station
  • Utah car insurance laws are written to ensure that you are financially covered in the unfortunate case of a car accident

More Utah DMV Questions?


How Else Can Skip Help? Whether you need assistance navigating funding for your small business — like SBA loans, grants, or other financing options, or guidance with government-related services — like TSA PreCheck or DMV appointments, we’re ready to help. Become a member and skip the red tape.


Let's stay in touch

Subscribe to keep up with fresh news and exciting updates. We promise not to spam you.

utah vehicle registration

vehicle registration utah

utah dmv

dmv


About UsSkip For GoodBecome a Member

Copyright © 2022, YoGovernment, Inc. | Terms & Conditions, Privacy
NOT OWNED OR OPERATED BY ANY GOVERNMENT AGENCIES